(703) 978-4141

stmaryofsorrows.org

St. Mary’s Church was built in 1858 and catered to the spiritual needs of many of the Irish immigrants coming to Fairfax to work on the Orange and Alexandria Railroad. These immigrants because the nucleus of this new parish. During the Civil War, given the church’s important location on the main road from Fairfax Courthouse to the depot of the Orange and Alexandria Railroad (now Fairfax Station), the area, with St. Mary’s as an identifying point, quickly became an important objective for both Northern and Southern armies vying to dominate the railroads in the area. St. Mary’s features beautiful surroundings as well as a rich history, a must see while visiting The City of Fairfax.

Bookmark the permalink.