Historic Fairfax

The City of Fairfax has a rich history. From its perfectly preserved historic building (including the site of the first fatality of the Civil War) to Civil War grafitti on the site of the Blenheim Estate, to a chance to learn the lore of spies and secrets at The Fairfax Museum and Visitors Center, you’ll find plenty of wonders to choose from, and an opportunity for your children to learn about and appreciate the historical heritage of this important city.

City Cemetery

On December 31, 1866, the trustees of the Ladies Memorial Association paid Richard T. Brown and his wife, Marion, $225.00 for 2 1/3 acres. It was purchased

“… as a burial place or cemetery for the re-interment of the bodies of such persons as the ‘Ladies Memorial Association’ of said County of Fairfax shall direct to be interred therein. More

Civil War Trails

Civil War Trails

Explore the Civil War trails. Download the Map here (PDF).

Historic Blenheim & Civil War Interpretive Center

The City of Fairfax purchased the historic Blenheim estate in early 1999 to preserve and develop into a Civil War house museum and open-air park. Blenheim is a c.1855 central-hall-plan brick farmhouse on 12 acres located at 3610 Old Lee Highway. More


Dr. William Gunnell House (Built 1835)

Private residence.

It was in this house that Ranger John Mosby captured the Union area commander Brig. Gen. Edwin H. Stoughton, in bed, the night of March 9, 1863. Mosby awoke the general with a slap. “Get up, general, and come with me.” Stoughton roared, “What is this? Do you know who I am, sir?” “I reckon I do, general. More

Fairfax Court House (Built 1800)

The Fairfax Courthouse is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. George Mason petitioned the General Assembly in 1790 to move the courthouse to “such a place as should be found most convenient near the center of the County.” Designed by James Wren and centrally located at the crossroads of Little River Turnpike and Ox Road, Fairfax County Courthouse was completed in 1800. More


Fairfax Museum and Visitors Center

Built in 1873, this is the oldest brick two-story school remaining in Fairfax County. Its bricks were made at the Farr property across the street. Taxpayers may have shaken their heads at the exorbitant $2750 fee paid for its construction. The schoolhouse now welcomes visitors and houses the Fairfax Museum.

Daily Mon–Sunday 9am–5pm

Ratcliffe-Allison House and Kitty Pozer Gardens

The oldest surviving house in the city was built in 1812. More

The Fairfax Station Railroad Museum

(703) 425-9225

www.fairfax-station.org

Fairfax Station is a historic area with many pre-revolutionary settlements. The Fairfax Station Railroad was a very busy railroad community and eventually the hub of county commerce, communication, transportation, as well as the county social center. In 1973, The Southern Railway System closed this station which was the last operating railway depot in Fairfax County. More


Ford Building (Built 1835)

Offices and Art Gallery

This was the home of the local Union commander, Brig. Gen. Edwin H. Stoughton, March 9, 1863. A search of the house had revealed an honorary aide-de-camp commission to Antonia from Gen. Jeb Stuart. Union Maj. Willard, a former Provost Marshal at Fairfax Court House, fell in love with Antonia, secured her release and married her. More

Historic Blenheim & Civil War Interpretive Center

600x600_1340737969357-weddingsandevents2603610 Old Lee Highway, Fairfax, VA 22030

Open noon to 4 pm Tuesday through Saturday

Tours at 1 pm, Tuesday through Saturday

Chris Martin, Ph.D.
Historic Resources Director
703-273-5452

Download the Brochure

Historic Blenheim: This unique and historic venue will help make your wedding or rehearsal dinner even more special. The Civil War Interpretive Center at Historic Blenheim has historic charm and presence while offering modern amenities for your event, while Historic Blenhiem and its surroundings make for a beautiful photo backdrop and gives your wedding the feeling of privacy in the city. More


Historic Fairfax City, Inc.

Historic Fairfax City Inc. (HFCI) is dedicated to promoting the appreciation and preservation of the history and artifacts of the City of Fairfax as an experience central to the lives of the community.

HFCI, a 501© 3 non-profit, was created by the Fairfax City Council in 1982 to help manage and preserve historic properties within the City of Fairfax and to increase the public’s awareness and appreciation for those properties and for the City’s rich history. More

Joshua Gunnell House (built 1830)

The Joshua Gunnell House holds a series of secrets. When Captain Marr fell, former Virginia Governor “Extra Billy” Smith ran from the Gunnell house to command the Warrenton Rifles. Later, this house grew infamous when Union Colonel Johnstone escaped capture by Mosby’s Rangers in March of 1863. Johnstone hid under the outhouse in his nightshirt to elude the Gray Ghost of the Confederacy. More


The Legato School Museum (1877)

(703) 279-8166

The Legato School was built in 1877, after the Civil War. This school was built to provide children of struggling families with a basic education. The stories of those days reveal a saga of hardship and difficulties overcome by a deep longing for better education. The school stayed open until 1930, when it closed and students were transferred to Centreville. More

Marr Monument (dedicated 1904)

Dedicated to the memory of Captain John Quincy Marr, the first Confederate officer to be killed in the Civil War. Union cavalry attacked the City at 3:00 a.m. on June 1, 1861. The Warrenton rifles commanded by Marr defended the city. More


Moore House (Built 1840)

Offices and Restaurant

During his March 1863 raid, Ranger John S. Mosby searched here, with no success, for the Union mercenary Col. Percy Wyndham who had called Mosby a horse thief. Mosby had replied that the only horses he had ever stolen had Union troopers on their backs armed with two pistols and a saber. More

National Firearms Museum

The National Firearms Museum invites you to visit one of the world’s finest collections of firearms. The Museum contains a most diverse collection of civilian and military firearms, accoutrements, ammunition and accessories.

For more information please call 703 267 1600 or www.NRAmuseum.org

The Museum is open daily 9:30am – 5:00pm; closed on major holidays. More


Old Fairfax Jail (1891)

The original jail (1802) burned down in 1884. The Alexandria Jail was used until this building was completed. The jailer and his family lived in quarters in the front until the early 1950s.

Old Town Hall

Built as a gift to the city by Joseph E. Willard in 1900, Old Town Hall is the heart of the city and the venue for an art gallery, concerts, lectures and special events. More

Old Town Hall


81038eb967ebf0598e8c915350f91614

3999 University Drive Fairfax, VA 22030
Available for rental Monday through Sunday:
7:00 am–2:00 am
Brianne Baglini, Operations Manager
703-385-7858, Brianne.baglini@fairfaxva.gov

Download the Brochure

Nestled in the center of Old Town Fairfax, this elegant two-story Colonial Revival provides a warm, yet stately ambiance. If you are looking for a place with a rich history, a style all its own, and modern amenities, consider the City of Fairfax’s historic Old Town Hall. More


Ratcliffe-Allison House and Kitty Pozer Gardens

The oldest surviving house in the city was built in 1812. It served a variety of purposes including as a cobbler shop. Occupied until the 1950s, the house was home to famed gardener and writer Kitty Pozer. Operating Hours

Saturdays 11am-2pm More

St. Mary’s Church (1858)

(703) 978-4141

stmaryofsorrows.org

St. Mary’s Church was built in 1858 and catered to the spiritual needs of many of the Irish immigrants coming to Fairfax to work on the Orange and Alexandria Railroad. These immigrants because the nucleus of this new parish. During the Civil War, given the church’s important location on the main road from Fairfax Courthouse to the depot of the Orange and Alexandria Railroad (now Fairfax Station), the area, with St. More


The Virginia Room

(703) 293-6227

www.fairfaxcounty.gov/library

The Virginia Room is one of the most comprehensive collections of historical and genealogical information in Northern Virginia. The Virginia Rooms offers information regarding historical texts, genealogy, state and local government information, school information, local resources, and photographic archives. The Virginia Room houses state and local history texts as well as papers from past presidents such as Washington, Jefferson, and Mason. More

The Wilson Farr House

Contact: Holly Rhoder, 703-591-5059, farrhouse2@aol.com
Address:
10172 Main Street, Fairfax, VA 22030

The Wilson Farr House is the perfect setting for intimate events. Located in the heart of Fairfax City, this colonial revival style home was restored in 2001 to its original splendor, but with the addition of modern conveniences. This beautiful historic home includes a great room with fireplace and French doors opening to a cheerful sunroom and deck. More